Use exisiting equity to buy another investment property?

18 Replies

Hi, I am a newbie from California here on BiggerPockets and I love all the great information I've been reading. I have lots of questions now but hope to be able to answer some in the not-to-distant future!

Here's my situation:

• The home that I live in has about $400K in equity. I refinanced it two years ago for 30years @ 3.5% and I have pretty low payments (It's worth around $600K).
  • I have a rental condo with about $125K in equity. Rent covers principle, interest and assoc. fees but does not cover about $3400 in taxes.

My original plan was to let the condo get about $200K in equity and then sell it and pay off my home. However, I am wondering if I'd be better off taking some of the equity out of the house and buying something like a duplex and hold on to it.

Here's my dilemma, while I have quite a bit of equity, I own my own business and show very little income. I also am an adjunct online college professor and receive very small W-2 wages that I can account for.

Does anyone have any suggestions about how to go about getting financed to purchase a duplex? I also have about 350K in 401k accounts and I'm over 59 years old so I can tap that money without penalty. I also have a HELOC on my home for $100K and it currently has about 20K of that which is used. I have an excellent FICO score. Keep in mind that California duplexes are probably in the $775K - $900K range or more.

Thanks in advance!

Bill Briscoe

Have you considered allowing your retirement plan to purchase the property? Your funds could be used as a down payment conjunction with a non-recourse loan to purchase the property.

Hey Bill! Welcome to BP. I'm up in Venice, so not too far north of you. Sounds like you've done great with your properties here.