Buy and Hold. What do you look for?

13 Replies

If you are looking for buy and hold, what criteria are you looking for? I just came across an investor who said anything less than 100$/sqft, he would be interested in. I have a few for him. (I am an agent)

What are you looking for in Buy and Hold? Also, if you are thinking of investing in Sacramento area, I have a few to show you.

I look for something that will cash flow after a 75% LTV mortgage 20 year mortgage. I also look to make 15% or greater cash on cash with an additional 5% or so coming from principal paid down.

It has to be stable or growing area.  Someplace that I wouldn't be afraid to walk around during the day.  

It needs to have some potential for appreciation.  

It doesn't have anything that would turn a renter off.  Such as a RR track in the backyard (I have one of those already).  

That is just a broad brush. 

Thanks. I wonder what others who live in Northern California think.

Cash flow now, nice in the future but I want it when I purchase.  When I have followed this rule I have done fine but when It was basically flat or small negative to start I have been burned usually by unseen property issues or an increase in taxes (on out of state properties).  Room for rents to increase so area must be on the way up not down.

Price per square foot is kind of silly unless you are talking about the same neighborhood.  Lot size blows price per square foot out of the water as a measure.  PPSF in a given subdivision is useful otherwise.

I  agree with @Cal C. that I want to be able to walk  the neighborhood.  I have owned inner city SF multi family and my tenants were constantly hassled by people on the street.

- Look for multi family houses/small apartment buildings where value (cash flow) can be created

- Buy them upfront with hard money

- Fix them up and rent them out

-refinance on the back end with a portfolio lender (minimum 75% LTV)

- Rinse & repeat