How did the 2008 crash change REI?

7 Replies

I'm pretty new to REI, and I've been reading a few books lately, but a lot were written before 2008. Not too say they have bad info because I think a lot of the principles hold true today and are excellent advice, but there is certainly a naivety in some of them that is only apparent in retrospect, especially the ones who talk down the RE bubble doomsayers of the time (I'm looking at you, Larry B. Loftis!). Is there anything we learned from the housing collapse that we didn't already know? Is the way we estimate appreciation or the value of a deal any different than it used to be? Any context, wisdom, or anecdotes are welcome.

@Brendan Morin  the crash changed a lot!  First and foremost, it taught investors who thought they were invincible a very important and expensive lesson that you don't fool with Mother Nature. It taught the banks the same thing. No more ability to do the 100% financed deals and cash-out Refis with no income or asset verification!  I think you'll soon see that memories are short, however.

It took a lot of players out of the business--some permanently and some only temporarily. It caused our fearless leaders to enact laws designed to prevent all of that from happening again, most of which won't and a lot of which hurts more than it helps (like the FHA 90 day anti-flip rule--seriously?!). And Dodd-Frank changed the game on seller financing, just search the BP forums to see how.

I don't see changes to how a deal is valued...the same appraisal methods still apply.  It might change the way some view appreciation...back in the day it was expected and people took it for granted. Nowadays the allure of homeownership has been lost on some consumers.

Thanks for the thought out reply! Any idea who were the major losers in the crash - as in was there one particular investment strategy that got hit the hardest?