What Risk Mitigation Strategies Are You Using To Hedge Against A Market Correction or Crash

5 Replies

I will be acquiring my first rental within the next 30 days, and I started thinking about what strategies I can utilize in the future to mitigate risk and hedge against a market downturn. I'm not saying one will happen soon, but one will likely happen again in my lifetime and I'd like to be prepared for it. 

Do you buy properties in several different locations? Do you focus on metro areas? Do you have a portfolio of commercial, mfh, and sfh? What will you do if your rental market dries up?

These are the questions that have been crossing my mind recently. I realize I'm new to the game, but I think risk planning should occur sooner rather than later. 

BEING PREPARED FOR MARKET DOWNTURN:

1) RESERVES, RESERVES, RESERVES! Keep cash on hand.

2) Buy with enough margin for a correction (in equity and cash flow, if it fits your strategy.)

3) High-demand areas w/ people and jobs, reasonable commutes to employment that are a good value.

Others?..

@Brandon Hall  

I hold considerable reserves and invest in three different markets currently.

But I also still have a day job, so that helps mitigate a lot of risk.

Originally posted by @Brandon Hall :

@J. Martin How much in reserves are you talking? If the rental market dried up, how long could you cover the debt service on your properties for?

I bring in about $4-5k more than I spend each  each month, so that is the first buffer. Then reserves. Because I get cash flows from 12 units at 6 addresses in a tight rental market, I'm not worried about temporary vacancies. But a sustained, large decrease in rental rates of 25-30%+ would most likely cause me to change my personal spending habits and hoard all the cash I can. But I think your reserves should take into account your financing situation, any upcoming bullet payments, overall monthly debt load and cash margin...