Need advice on buying home or real estate timing.

12 Replies

Greetings all, 

New to forums but have read a lot here due to an awesome community so keep it up folks.

My question revolves around timing of buying a house vs buying real estate.

Im currently living in OH and will be moving to Texas at the end of this year. My wife and I want to buy a duplex and a house as soon as possible but are unsure of which to grab first. 

We will be using the duplex as cash flow. What I don't want to happen is to buy a house first then not be approved for the duplex and vice versa. I am a vet and will be using my VA Loan for the house and not the duplex. So which would be more wise to look for getting into first, a home our the duplex for money then the home?

Also as a second question would it be wise to start looking at a home or duplex while still here in ohio or to wait till i have feet on ground in texas? Real estate agents anyone would reference in the killeen area? 

Thanks for anything you guys provide.

I would use your va loan to buy your duplex first, live in one side and rent the other until you are ready to buy another home. You can rent the other side when you move. @Billy Cones  is a realtor here in killeen.

If I recall correctly, VA waives the occupancy period (1 year? 5?) if you relocate more than a certain number of miles away for a job. Look into this. If I were in your position, I would try as hard as I could to try to get two loans under the VA terms.

For what it's worth, you will have a much easier time financing a duplex that you owner-occupy rather than one purchased for investment purposes. 

Originally posted by @Justin Fingers :

I would use your va loan to buy your duplex first, live in one side and rent the other until you are ready to buy another home. You can rent the other side when you move. @Billy Cones  is a realtor here in killeen.

Awesome thanks for the advice and reference.

Originally posted by @Christian Carson :