How far would you deviate from the 2% rule?

6 Replies

I just happened to be reading some of the threads on here, and it got me to thinking.  I don't generally use the 2% rule, but I don't disagree with it either, as a rule of thumb.    I've done 2.5% percent, and best deal I ever did was for 1/2% (break even on rent, home run on appreciation).

I've been in this for 16 years or so. I tend to use GRM more - a 50x deal is a screamingly good one to me, assuming it's a neighborhood I know (I only invest in areas I know well, and feel pretty strongly about that...). The most I'm generally willing to pay is 144x GRM, and I have to see significant development or cheap money to make that work. Thats like a .7% rule.

Do any experienced people go under a .7%, or over a 144 with any frequency?  If so, how would you defend it - I've found those places are pure development/appreciation plays, and cover their expenses at best.  And I was a lawyer before doing this full time, and am a fully qualified contractor, with people who work for me.  My expenses are wholesale, not retail.

The 2% rule is garbage, I would just discard it entirely. It really depends on the area. That being said, I personally would never go under 1% and would want to be closer to 1.5% usually. I only buy properties that cash flow, so I use as realistic of assumptions as I can and make sure that even with debt service, the property still cash flows for us. 

I agree with @Andrew Syrios . I think using a percentage, what ever percentage, is way too simplified to work. You could use this type of "rule" to quickly screen properties and see if they are even in the right ball park, but other than that I don't see many successful investors using that model.

There are too many variables, and when fully computed what looks good might be awful. In this area we normally buy at about 1% and there are areas that you could buy at 2%+... but you would never actually get the rent, vacancies and turnover are so high.