Buy and Hold vs. Rehab and Flip ?

11 Replies

Hi guys,

I'm just starting out in Real Estate and would like to know the pros and cons to buying and holding (with renters)  vs. Rehabbing and flipping?  Does anyone have experience doing both?  Which offers the best bang for your buck/time?

Well the best bang for your buck is probably to fix and flip but f your new and just getting started then you have no real experience in doing this.  If you at least start out as a buy and hold investor you will gain some experience and knowledge in that process that will help you when you start the other to flip homes. 

Good luck

I recommend the hybrid strategy of buy (low), rehab, then hold/rent.

Force up appreciation through the rehab, collect monthly cash flow, and set yourself up for a nice equity loan some years later to finance your next project.

@Nicholas O.  

I think this is more of a strategy question. Do you want an immediate return, but with unpredictable income and be able to quit your job in a short period of time? Or are you looking for long term predictable cash flow? That's bascially, in my opinon, the difference between fix n flip, and buy n hold. Fix and Flip allows you to make a bunch of money very quickly, but you need to focus all your time and effort on it (basically it becomes your job). Buy and Hold is typically done part time in the hopes of building up a steady income stream which will sustain you sometime in the future and/or in retirement.

So I think the question is, which one do you want?

Both are totally viable, depends on your market. I am a strong believer in buy and hold with owner financing preferred. I still have some rentals but I like buying and holding and leaving maintenance to the buyer. 

But I do some flips as well when I need more cash for buys and holds. I do not do mortgages on investment properties anymore, so I need cash!

@Nicholas O. - buy and hold with seller financing is great!