Can I get roof replaced with insurance?

5 Replies

3 weeks ago I had my own roof replaced because of wind damage. I got a $8000 roof for $750 deductible. 

I just had my contractor tell me the rental property I acquired last year needs a new roof and it looks like there is definite wind damage. Would it be a good idea to try and get another roof in such a short amount of time? Could they drop me?

My own home is through nationwide - I have 11 single family rental homes all on a commercial insurance policy though nationwide but covered by 3rd party.

I recommend you consult your insurance advisor about this.

I am no expert, but having spent the past five years working with insurance both in the U.S. and in Norway I can tell you that wind damage is not just wind damage to insurance companies. 

Claim handlers usually wanna know much much wind we're talking about, and have set matrixes to determine whether the wind can be filed under "extreme weather" or not.

@Adam Craig , I can't speak with any firm knowledge about whether Nationwide would drop you or not.  

However, I can say that I was a long time Nationwide policy holder on both my primary residence and my rental property.  Earlier this year, I shopped around and let's just say the results were jaw dropping.  

I saved about 15% on my primary residence.  On my rental properties, I saved hundreds and hundreds of dollars each year.  Pure and simple, Nationwide screwed me.  I even had two Nationwide employees admit to me that their income property coverage prices are ridiculously high and advise me, in so many words, to shop around.  To make matters worse, when I finally canceled my Nationwide policy, they tried to charge me a couple hundred dollars on the back end.  It took a threat to call my lawyer before they "reworked" the numbers so I didn't "owe" anything.

I can't say that you're being overcharged, but you should definitely get some quotes.

Good luck.