Relocating. Where Do I Invest?

13 Replies

This is a topic that I really haven't seen discussed much before, and that is why I am starting this thread.

I received a phone call and a job offer for a position in Omaha, Nebraska. I am probably one of the few people who has no intention of quitting my job, and love what I do for a living. I currently own two 4 plexes, one in Phoenix, AZ and the other in Tucson, AZ. I am closing on my third 4 plex in under 2 weeks. 

I will go from being able to see my properties on a daily basis, to maybe flying out to see them a couple times a year. Fortunately I already have property management set up, so that won't be my issue.

My question is, where do I invest? Should I continue investing in Arizona, the market where I currently own all of my rentals? Should I start looking for deals in Omaha, the place where I am moving? The third option is to look for deals in Kansas City, it is my hometown and only a 2.5 hour drive from Omaha. I know this market the best of all three.

Also I have read that you can have more than one FHA loan if you are relocating, so I am strongly considering going that route.

[email protected] | 402‑965‑1853

The Omaha area is a great rental property market.  Low vacancies, strong economy, good job growth.  Why not invest in your own (new) backyard?  The demographics are similar to KC, so why drive 3 hours when you don't have to?

Owen Dashner, ODD Properties, LLC | http://www.sellmyhouseinomahafast.com

The best strategy that i was told was, invest in 3 to 5 markets no more. find your first and build a good amount of rentals, then rinse and repeat. By the time you build your 4th or 5th market, you will be ready to upgrade (to hotels) in the first market that you started in. your first market should be your backyard. Because that is where you will learn and be able to make more mistakes but won't cost you as much. Happy investing!

Anthony,