Best job to get if you want to be a realestate investor.

9 Replies

I am a manufacturing engineer and I don't like my job.   I was interested in engineering while in school but now find that I'm just not passionate about it.  What I am passionate about is real estate investing and the finances.  

With a B.S. in mechanical engineering.  Does anyone know of a good job I could work that would give me an advantage in the real estate industry while I am slowly investing in real estate.  I don't want to be a real estate agent.

I saw a job posting for a county tax assessor.  I feel like I could learn alot from this job but i don't know for sure.  

Does anyone have any thoughts?

An engineering job will likely be the most lucrative option. You can use that income to fund your real passion.  If you are lucky, it may lead to an earlier or better retirement.

Originally posted by @Joseph Jar :

I am a manufacturing engineer and I don't like my job.   I was interested in engineering while in school but now find that I'm just not passionate about it.  What I am passionate about is real estate investing and the finances.  

With a B.S. in mechanical engineering.  Does anyone know of a good job I could work that would give me an advantage in the real estate industry while I am slowly investing in real estate.  I don't want to be a real estate agent.

I saw a job posting for a county tax assessor.  I feel like I could learn alot from this job but i don't know for sure.  

Does anyone have any thoughts?

You say you don't want to be an agent, and I don't blame you. I have no desire to buy or sell houses to average home buyers. However there is something else that you can do with a real estate license.