Using Aribnb to Rent in Vacation Areas

10 Replies

I've been looking into this more and more and was wondering what other investors thought of using Airbnb and whether they felt it could work or not. Airbnb provides the freedom to book renters for any period of time and at a rate that you set. In theory, wouldn't you be able to make a significant amount above what a regular rental property should?

I understand that every area has different regulations that might prevent this and that Airbnb also takes a percentage, but you can still rent for $50-$200 a night or even more.

Any thoughts?

David,

Yes depending on your market you can easily double or triple your rental rates monthly with airbnb. I've been doing Airbnb for the last 6 months where I live and I'll never go back to having a long term tenant unless it's a corporate rental. If you are near colleges, ball parks, or football stadiums then you are in business especially if you are in a city where Airbnb is supported by the city.

Hi @David Graham  You're spot on. If you're getting $800/month in rent and you could get $80/night on Airbnb, it doesn't take too many days to cover that and then some. It's pretty tough to go back once you've been spoiled by Airbnb-sized revenues.

You're also correct that every municipality is going to have its own laws. Here in Denver, you can't rent out anything that is not your primary residence. I'm constantly trying to get my clients to see the value in a home with a basement apartment or carriage house as those are allowed under Denver's new Airbnb law.