Property management inspections

4 Replies

I've got a question that I haven't been able to find on the forum. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place.
How often do you feel a property management company should inspect your rentals? I've been using a company now for 11 years. They have been good with everything except inspecting my houses. The only time they get inspected is when I request it. Should I have to request an inspection or should it be something they should be doing without me having to ask? Three times in the past 11 years I've had tenets move out and the place was trashed. I feel that as long as these tents have been there, somebody from the PM company would have caught some of the destruction before it got that bad.
Also, how often do you inspect?

What does it say in your management agreement?   Most PM are more than willing to do the inspection if you want it and you are willing to pay for it.   Do not assume they are just going to do it for free.  I think that is where the breakdown happens between most owners and PM's.  This is why you need to read the contract carefully and discuss all fees up front when getting a PM.   Some include inspections and others things that others do not.   Do not assume.   Good communication at the start will make it a much smoother process. 

Tracy hit the nail on the head when he said you shouldn't assume they will be doing inspections for free, if your contract doesn't call for them.  Good inspections take time and if they are not included in your PM contract, your PM should be compensated for his/her time.  They should be providing you with both pictures and a written report for your records.  I would say once per year is sufficient, preferably around three or four months after lease start date.  You can't expect any tenant to be okay with inspections every other month, it's intrusive.

My advice is you should definitely have a meeting with the owner of your PM company ASAP to discuss your concerns and requests.