Asking to much of my PM?

6 Replies

My property manager is extremely reluctant or just has no urgency when it comes to larger repairs/ maintenance. 1 example: My properties sewer has tree root intrusion and I asked them to get a quote 2 weeks ago, and have followed up twice and got a we're working on it response. Originally I planned to do a lot of work utilizing there connections and hoped they would help partially manage the work. Is this to much to ask? Thanks BP

I think that you're expecting them to do their job? Maybe I am misunderstanding, but if my boss asked me to do that I would get it done and I am a product returns analyst not a property manager. 

Michael Minor

Time to have a heart to heart conversation with the property manager over your expectations and their failure to meet them.  You may ask EXACTLY what they have done and make your judgement from their response.  If you are unsatisfied with their response, it is time to look for another firm.  Then, you should call 3 plumbers immediately to get estimates and get the ball rolling.  A sewer backup could be very costly (and quite nasty), so you should protect your property/investment by taking action.

If the expectation is to resolve the sewer backup, it is an emergency call as no tenant can use toilets and kitchen the rotor rooter treatment should be an overnight thing.   But if you want the sewer pipes rebuilt then you may have to wait a longer time. 

My impression is you were asking for quote bids and shop for a better vendor, that is another story.  Most PM need to manage close to 100 units to make a decent living. They will naturally tell you big jobs are time consuming.

Would you also ask a PM to get you quotes for re-roofing? Seems to me getting a quote for major sewer work would be similar. We just had a sewer line replaced because it collapsed. It had root intrusion too. Quotes were $5,000-$7,000. Also required permits.