Would you take a job promotion?

22 Replies

Currently my day job is a great one, maybe even the best I've had.   Sure I'd like to make more money but it pays well, it's flexible, not a lot of stress, I'm good at it, the commute is easy (for Los Angeles), great benefits, all good things.  Best of all I have enough of a work-life balance to enjoy life, pursue real estate investing, and build an extraordinary future with my wife (real estate investing helps a lot too).  

Well, I was just approached about a promotion at my day job. It would mean more hours and more stress, roughly $15-20k more a year, and a better career path.   The work-life balance would not be as balanced as it is now.

What would you do?

Stay where you are. 15-20K After taxes is a nice chunk but may not be as life changing in a positive way as the added stress of a job change.  

@Powell Chee
Do whatever makes you happy. Money isn’t always happiness. You could be a garbage man but be happy, and that is the ultimate goal in my opinion . That’s my 2 cents hope it helps

@Powell Chee

Take the money and continue to invest in real estate. 

Don't let anyone fool you, $20,000/yr is a lot of money. Anyone saying it isn't must have been born rich. 

402-965-1853
Originally posted by @Powell Chee :

Currently my day job is a great one, maybe even the best I've had.   Sure I'd like to make more money but it pays well, it's flexible, not a lot of stress, I'm good at it, the commute is easy (for Los Angeles), great benefits, all good things.  Best of all I have enough of a work-life balance to enjoy life, pursue real estate investing, and build an extraordinary future with my wife (real estate investing helps a lot too).  

Well, I was just approached about a promotion at my day job. It would mean more hours and more stress, roughly $15-20k more a year, and a better career path.   The work-life balance would not be as balanced as it is now.

What would you do?

how many more hours?