What topics do you think people tend to struggle with the most?

15 Replies

I'm an oil and gas analyst turned RE agent I'm writing a book and starting a vlog just on my FB to try and educate people on both mindset of being an investor and what one needs to do to be able to effectively start to invest both in them selves financially and mentally to succeed in RE investing. What topics do you think need more coverage and which do you think are overdone... Mostly I'm fishing for ideas for content to explore.

This post has been removed.

Yea... I've seen much of this... people wanting to underwrite and invest in property without doing so to them selves prior... so... a good topic may be the order of operations i suppose, lol.

I think most new investors biggest struggle is trusting themselves and actually pulling the trigger.  The study, they run the numbers, they talk to people, they know it's a deal and they still freeze up.  I can't count how many deals I looked at, hesitated and watched sell without having the guts to make an offer.

Paul is dead on.

I would add covering:

- invest in what you know (i.e. if they don't work with or in an asset class they plan to invest in, then they should get educated in that investment space if they aren't already)

- the best ways to network with others who invest in said vehicle

- how to find a mentor or shadow other people's deals

Real estate investing is no different than any other long-term endeavor.  People struggle with setting priorities and maintaining commitment.