Tiny houses: has anyone been involved in developing a market

9 Replies

Trying to start out in development and investing. With the trend across the country of tiny houses... does anyone have any experience in what the market trend may be doing in this regard, especially in MA

Originally posted by @Stefan Miller :

Trying to start out in development and investing. With the trend across the country of tiny houses... does anyone have any experience in what the market trend may be doing in this regard, especially in MA

@J. Martin had a tiny house developer speak at the summit last year... who was that?

Have fun getting approved . It wont be easy 

There are a number of towns in MA that have approved tiny homes, even Nantucket has... I am a RE Broker and GC and am in works with another GC in the area MertoWest Boston... who has  a friend in a neighboring town that has 1 of the last large open acreage allowable for development. My intent is to build a Tiny house community. Close to Boston, Worcester, 1.20hr to Cape... etc... Thought is would be great for young professional commuters and or retirees.... etc.  

Hi, yes, I have been working on tiny houses for 2 years in California. It's been very frustrating because the zoning laws in this state are draconian. Basically, mobile homes developed bad reputations in the 1970 when they became synonymous with trailer park slums (they used to catch on fire a lot due to poor workmanship, too). At that time counties started zoning against building more parks. Today we are living with the zoning decisions made in the 70's which could not  have anticipated the evolution of these products into tiny homes.

In other states, with fewer zoning laws, tiny homes are much easier to bring into the housing mix choices. I dont know about the laws in MA.

Is that the info you wanted?

For it to work you would have to go where it is already approved. Do not try to reinvent the wheel in a new area where the communities do not already exist.