How do you buy low in a sellers market?

11 Replies

Hello everyone! I am a proud newbie to real estate investing.  I have read a bunch of books, listened to many podcasts, and done all of the normal newbie research.  I have spoken with a couple different real estate agents and analyzed many deals using the BiggerPockets calculators.  I am very ready to take the actionable steps needed to make my first investment but I'm extremely nervous that as soon as I do the market is going to tank. 

Everyone I talk to says it's a sellers market and that property values are as high as they have been in a decade, which is great if you are selling and obviously not so great if you are buying.... 

I guess my question is two fold, should I wait it out and keep preparing/analyzing/learning or should I take the chance and buy something where the numbers make sense, and if so, how do I buy low in such a strong sellers market? 

Any and all help is appreciated, thanks in advance! 

Joe

Everyone always wishes they could have bought last year, or 5 years, or 30 years ago. Guess what, in a year, or 5 years or 20 years from now you will have wished you bought in 2018.

Joseph Szymczak II I don’t know that there’s a magic way to “buy low”. You could look off-market but then it’s time intensive, there are likely marketing costs, realtors don’t want to throw out horrible “low” offers for a newbie who has never closed on a investment property.

So here’s my advice: Figure out what has disproportionately higher value to you. Is it a property within a 5 mile radius of you because it’s easy to manage? Do you think there’s an area primed for appreciation that others don’t? Would you pay more than the “average” investor for a 2015 build because you loathe the idea of cap-ex?

All of this is pretty darn relative. But if you’re looking to buy for the long-term there are plenty of “good deals” on paper that might not be “good deals” to you.