can't verify past landlord and current employer for applicant

16 Replies

Hi guys,

Thanks a lot for all of you to taking time to help.

I am a newbie landlord  and just had my first applicant for my newly renovated first property.

She looks great on paper. She has a good high paying job and everything else looks good.

I also called to employer and past landlord and also bought Rentprep(background check company) package where they call to verify employment and past landlord as well.

But problem is she just lived at one apartment complex for 7-8 years and when I called them 2 times and left message, I am not getting any callback. Rentprep also called them 3 times but no response.

For her employment, I talked to person applicant gave me a number on application. She did confirm that she works there but can't disclose more info and I have to call corporate number. When rentprep called corporate number, they said according to their policy, they can not disclose this information.( She did provided last 2 paystubs)

Any advice in this situation? Does any of you had this problem before? How did you navigate to it?

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

If the person at her place of employment did verbally confirm that the applicant works there, what else do you need? Also, you might always want to look up the places of employment yourself and call the number you find rather than the number that is provided to you by the applicant.

Hi @Neerav Patel . In my experience, apartment complexes are generally slow to respond to requests to verify rental history. It's a losing proposition from their perspective: If the tenant is halfway decent, they're likely going to lose them to you!