Is this a good decision?

19 Replies

Good Afternoon,

I am asking for advice from the more experience investors.

I brought 2 rented sfr. on land contract.

One  is worth 145k the other one is worth 125k. I negotiated the  price down to 180k for both of them with a 30k down payment.  balance is 150k  will pay them off in 8 years with an interest rate of 6.5%, my monthly payment is $1003.97 

I have a 120k available and Im thinking of asking the seller if he will take the 120k, it will save me an extra 30k plus all the interest. 

@Ian Jackson I use the cashflow from other paid for rentals I have to pay for repairs.

Paying off my rentals is my goal, especially now that everything is so expensive. 

But I do get your point in not blowing all my $$ at once. 

Its just that saving 30k plus the interest sounds appealing, but I am new to real state investing so not sure if I am doing the right thing.

Thank you 

@Joe Villeneuve I am sorry Joe, but for some reason I cant see what you see.

If I owe him 150k plus 6.5 % interest and I offer 120k, I save 30k plus the interest and I can cash flor $1250 per month.  please help me see what I'm doing wrong?

I would look into turning that 120k into 4 or 5 more properties that cash flow an additional 2-2.5k a month, thats where you missing the boat.  It Will take you a 100 months to get your 120k back with just one property, more properties a fast return.  Thats just the way I look at it.

If you are cash flowing positive without paying 100% cash, then you are not paying the added $150k + 65% interest...your tenant is.

When you buy a cash flow property, the cost to you, is what cash comes out of your pocket...and your tenant pays the rest...as long as you are CF positive.

When you pay $30 DP, and finance the rest, those two properties cost you $30k

When you pay $150k, and eliminate the loan, you are paying $150k for these 2 properties.