Living in CA, where do I invest???

20 Replies

Hey all! I'm currently living in Redding, CA. I'm looking to invest, as you could imagine the 1% rule is hard to find here. I'm looking to try my hand in out of state investing, but I'm not sure where. I'm looking for a property about $350,000. As many units as I can get, without sacrificing quality. It will be out of state so I don't want a C, D, or F property giving me headaches. Let me know if you have any suggestions for good cities to start investing, that are safe, clean and have reasonable property prices! Thank you 

@Jake Mires Hi Jake. Im also a licensed real estate agent in CA. But recently have relocated to East TN. Message me for info on investing in the Smokies. I own 4 vacation rentals soon to be 6 and 4 LTR in AL. Out of state investor since the beginning. Its all about your connections.
@Jake Mires you need to learn the areas before investing. Get to know your market, then you will know what’s a good deal. If you pay 350k for 4 plex in Little Rock OR Memphis you paying to much!

Area is important, however if your buying out of state the most important component is your team! A plane ticket and cost of a hotel is a solid investment into your education. Plenty of hurdles to be aware of. Happy to share my experience if you like.

@Jake Mires You're in an area right now that has the strongest demand for rental property of probably anywhere in the U.S. Even before the Carr Fire, demand was high. It's almost impossible to find rentals for the displaced, I know, my firefighter grandson had his house burn, and is looking for a place to rent for his wife and two kids, so he can get back to work. For the next year, insurance is paying top dollar for rentals, and after that, there's still going to probably be strong demand like before the fire.