Multi-family build to rent advice

27 Replies

Looking to build a tri or fourplex as an investment property. I'm a general contractor myself so I will be building it. I've been trying to find all the literature and bigger pockets articles to help me with this new ventures. Any go to literature or anything of the sort or advice for me! Thanks in advance everyone.

@Jeff Efird Jr There is literature all over the site. What kind of help are you looking for specifically? You might want to start under the education tab above

@Ned Carey Main thing I'm looking for is amount of money to put into them for a certain return. I've read a bunch of literature but they go back and forth on the subject. This will be my first multi-family and I know they are a totally different beast compared to SFH.

Figure out your landcost + cost to build, probably going to be high. Then figure out what's average rents for the area. I'd be conservative and give yourself a range...

Ideally you'd hit 2% of your cost in rents, realistically that probably won't happen for new build maybe you'll hit 1%.

So it cost say 400k for land and build you're looking at wanting 4-8k per month in rent.

In all honesty you're probably better off doing a rehab vs new ...

As I'm sure you know construction is booming wait till it slows down....

Plus is there even a demand for this in your area? Not all places support tried/quads and sometimes city won't give you the zoning. 

@Matt K. I'm located 15 min outside of charlotte. Tri and fourplexs are doing really well. Especially the mid range ones. Really everything is doing great. That will slow down soon though in the home building and buying department but it's looking like renting will stay hot. Theres not enough homes being built fast enough for the influx of people coming in so rent is their only option.
Originally posted by @Jeff Efird Jr :