Any particular growth in Indiana?

5 Replies

Hi all,

I'm looking to potentially put some more eyes in the Midwest and was thinking of Indiana in particular.  I have some experience with parts of eastern Indiana, but was wondering if/where you fine people were seeing any growth/stability.  I'm open to any suggestions and discussions, thanks!

@Doug Phillips I've lived in Kokomo, Indiana all my life and in the last five years or so that I've paid attention to the local rental property market, I've realized that Kokomo is somewhat of a hidden gem for investors. While the area is still fairly heavily dependent on the auto industry (Chrysler, Delphi & GM are three major employers), there has been a lot of growth and development in the downtown area. Depending on what your focus is (SFR, multifamily or larger apartment buildings), there are a decent number of options with monthly rents exceeding 2% of price in many cases. There are also a growing number of dependable property management companies in the area.

Indy is looking to be a great place to invest in buy and hold rentals. Basically, the city itself has already hosted a Super Bowl. Which was funny because people objected, saying the city was too small to accommodate a sporting event of the SB scale. Except that every year the Indianapolis 500 goes off without a hitch, and is the single largest single day sporting even in the history of the planet.

Why I said that, every spare dollar goes to the Colts, Pacers, and the Motor Speedway. Peyton Manning is gone as is all of his money. Andrew Luck is great, but not Peyton. The Pacers are exciting, but only just. Indy's on the verge of losing what little it had to make in not an armpit between St. Louis and Cleveland.