2-4 units overpriced everywhere?

25 Replies

I am a realtor in CA and I've spoken with realtors in Ohio, Florida, Texas, Tennessee and I've had no luck seeing a difference in return on investment or cash flow on properties. I can get around .62% on SF here and thought for sure after all I've heard about these markets that it would be totally possible to get between the 0.70-1.00% on SF and close to that on a duplex or even have decent cash flow on 2-4 but from what I'm seeing that is not the case anywhere. What am I missing - is it only those who have the large & expensive mailer systems in place who find anything worth buying anymore - and for that you'd need to live in the area? I have two rentals here and might as well continue to invest in CA if there is nothing better to be had elsewhere. Feeling super late to the party and frustrated. Would love feedback and advice or direction.

Hi @Kelly Pierce . I am in the Panama City/Panama City Beach area in Florida. I just got my first property under contract here, a two unit, that will pay the mortgage house-hacking using one side as a STR. If you are looking to buy a 2-4 unit, those size properties here can cash flow very well because there is a shortage of housing since hurricane Michael. STRs can be very profitable here by the beach as well. Essentially the market here is less expensive and there is opportunity since the hurricane. I'm trying to find more deals here myself now that I am about to close on the first.

You're not talking to the right people. 

I can only speak for Ohio where I invest, but you can go buy nice rent-ready MLS listed properties all day long that are over 1%. My 2-3 unit properties are in slightly riskier areas, but they range from 1.7-2.7%.

Even my very low-risk partners and clients are buying 1% minimum multifamily deals that cash flow 200-300/month.