Roofstock for turnkey rental properties

7 Replies

Hi @Stacy Siska , I am not experienced with Hipster Investments of Roofstock, but I wanted to give you a little information about full-service turnkey. The turnkey option means that you don’t need to do any of the rehabbing the full service turnkey company does all of the work on their time and dime. The turnkey company has networks and systems in place to find the best properties and rehab to a high standard and quality. This also means that you won’t have to worry about vacancy risk during the rehab process.

Closing happens after the rehab is finished and inspections are passed, this means that you
won’t have any risk during the rehab stage. The turnkey company benefits from the spread
between what they put into the property and the market price they sell to you.

Your returns will come from cash flow each month and, presumably, long-term appreciation, this is not guaranteed. Going with the turnkey option means that you've traded extra potential return from forced appreciation for the luxury of having your time and energy back and having someone else do
the hard work for you!

I hope this helps you a bit with your choice of turnkey companies!

Best of luck!!

Originally posted by @Stacy Siska :

Anyone use roofstock or hipster investments for turnkey rental properties? Thoughts?

I don't believe they are really a Turnkey Provider. A TRUE Provider does everything in-house. They would own the property first, renovate it in-house, place a tenant, and then finally sell it to you as an investor. They would also stay on as a property manager after the sale, they would not just send you off to some third-party.

The key is that everything should be done by the same group from start to finish. 

Anyone use roofstock or hipster investments for turnkey rental properties? Thoughts?