Super confused on 30-year mortgages . . . ?

47 Replies

Hey folks - I am a noob, and I am confused. I have not done my first deal, but I am always looking at properties and crunching numbers. (I have not done my first deal yet because I am behind the game when it comes to a credit score/history - discussion for another day.) Somewhere along the way since I heard about BiggerPockets several months ago and begin reading/listening to BP stuff, I picked up the habit of using 30 years when calculating mortgages on properties. New SFR on the market? Crank out the amortization-calc.com and find out what the monthly payment would be over 30 years.

However, it would appear that this is wrong - it would seem, based on my conversations with banks and mortgage companies, that I can't purchase an investment property with a 30-year fixed rate mortgage. This keeps coming back to bite me - I am looking at a piece of property that would make a great trailer park, and another piece adjacent to it that already has several on it, but I keep forgetting that the monthly payment is WAY higher than I initially think due to my habit of using 30 years at first.

So 2 questions -

1.) Why do Brandon and friends use 30 years in their mortgage/BRRRR refinance calculation examples and books if you can't do a 30-year mortgage on an investment property?

2.) How would I secure a rental property (SFR) in such a way that I COULD take advantage of a 30-year fixed rate mortgage?

Thanks folks!

@Kyle Shepherd

Buying SFR you can take out a thirty year mortgage in your name. Brandon is correct. Buying mobile home park or other types of similar properties requires commercial financing which is 20 or 25 amortizations. Yes if you secure a Fannie or Freddie multifamily loan you can get 30 years with many stipulations. Minimum loan 1,000,000.

Originally posted by @Kenneth Garrett :

@Kyle Shepherd

Buying SFR you can take out a thirty year mortgage in your name. Brandon is correct.