• Homeowner
  • Philadelphia, PA
Votes |
where to buy second mortgage?

Account Closed
  • Homeowner
  • Philadelphia, PA
Posted Mar 5 2021, 20:01

Hello, I am currently a Philadelphia resident and looking to move to a warmer state with growth in tech jobs. I am thinking among CA, WA (Seattle) and TX. I am not sure which state to consider. And even in the state, which city. I purchased a single family rental in philly 6 months ago and handed it over to property management company. I am still struggling to get tenant. If I don't get positive cash flow, I am hoping at least it will pay for the monthly mortgage.

Now, I am planning to move to a place where, after a year down the line, I can pay mortgage instead of rent. So a city where I can afford a second mortgage without being broke, and take advantage of positive job growth in tech, startups since job is important to me. Some cities I have in mind are:

1. Seattle (but very close to mount rainier which can errupt in near future. Even if Seattle isn't at immediate risk, why risk it..? i heard Seattle is also hostile to landlord but a lot of people are moving there).

2. Sunnyvale, San jose, Sacramento - other norther CA area. But I highly doubt if I can afford a second mortgage in CA. But if the potential profit outweigh the risk, I may be able to convince one or two of my friends to invest with me at the property.

3. Dallas or Austin - These cities in Texas are becoming more investor friendly and lot of techies are moving here or nearby cities. I just worry about the politics, lack of diversity and how welcoming the place will be to immigrants. Since this future property will also be a long term investment, I am trying to find a place where I will be comfortable living, growing and investing.