Clarification on an aspect of partnerships

14 Replies

So I was curious about a certain aspect of partnerships. Let's say I use a partner to finance the down payment and rehab of a certain property and in turn we will be splitting the cash flow. Am I locked into this partnership and only claim half of the cash flow this property produces or is there a way I can buy back their investment and claim all of the cash flow?

I'm not apposed to staying in a partnership, simply wondering how long a partnership can last and how I can exit one should the need ever arise.

Thank you

Hi Adam.  I, too, am in the Lake Geneva area.  I have some rentals on the side that is all my wife and I but have a business partner that I have been working with for about 4 years.  My partner is more of the knowledge side--he is a jack of all trades and I bring the money and grunt work while we split the profits of our flips.  This is a nights and weekends job for me and Kevin and I have flipped 10 houses in the last 4 years with 2 more under contract to sell and we are closing on another next week.  The key is communication--you have to agree on a vision and communicate, communicate some more.  If you think you have over communicated, you haven't!  Partners are great, but they need to fill a need that you have that you cannot fill yourself and vice versa.  I don't have the framing, electric and plumbing knowledge and that is what Kevin brings while he does not have the money which is what I bring.  We hold each other accountable and are friends outside of the business.  Your partner has to be someone you like or going to work will be miserable.

@David Butler Thank you for the advice. That's cool that you're in the area, I have become a huge fan of Lake Geneva. How about length of partnership? Do investors repay their capital partners and then the partnership is dissolved or will you be tied to your partner for as long as you are involved with that property?

Originally posted by @Adam Amato :