Getting the right loan

13 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie looking to buy my first buy and hold property. I'm in New Haven CT and am looking for a multi-family property. I have excellent credit (849) but am a full time mom so I don't have a JOB. My husband works but doesn't want to have anything to do with it so I can't put him on the loan. Will a bank or private lender lend to someone with great credit and no job if the property's numbers are good and it cash flows? If not, any ideas out there of how I can get my first property financed?

@Kim Handelman Your going to have to sell you husband on the idea.  If you can't convince him to control property and finance debt then you could be in for a roller coaster ride not including him.

Frank

Good question, I am interested to see what answers come. A few things that will play a role is what type of down payment do you have and what are your current assets? I think you may have to jump through many extra hopes to get a loan if it is even possible. For now I would reach out to a lender directly and explain your situation. Also from now till the day you stop investing I would try to get your husband involved. Not having his support will make things much tougher (not impossible).

Why is he not willing to be involved? Idk if he is involved with stocks at all but if he is maybe compare ROI's. For me I think your goal should be to get his support and work together. For me and my wife by our selves we cannot afford our neighbors shed, together we are extremely happy with our lending power. Two make a big difference on paper, but it is entirely situationally based.

@Kim Handelman

I would suggest you find a good portfolio lender who will evaluate the deal based upon the deal and not your income (of which you have none).  As long as you have the ability to put the money down you should be able to find someone who'll finance your loan.  The amount needed to put down may vary but still it's possible.