Self-Employed, Trouble getting a loan

8 Replies

I'm a college student from Utah. My wife and I have been struggling to get pre-approved for a loan. We've missed a few deals because lenders don't see our work history or current employment as reliable.

We are going to house-hack a multifamily or SFR with accessory apartment for 200k or less.

We have a combined monthly income of $2500-$3000 and 15k in liquid assets. She is a 1099 contractor (Graphic Designer), but has been with the same company for 3 months and plans to stay there. I just started an internship that will go until April, so I don't have any pay stubs yet.

The lenders that we have talked to want 2 years of self-employment history to consider approving us. (She is considered to be self-employed). 

We have been trying to get approved for some time. Our credit is great and we have no debt or late payments. 

We are very eager to start investing and we are ready to jump at a deal, but we can't seem to get a loan.

How do we get a loan? Co-signing with our parents isn't an option right now.

@Bryce Young

If you're going to do a loan with FHA you're going to need 24 months of work history whether you're self employed or a Wage Earner.

Now if you're going to go with conventional financing you're going to need one year of tax returns and proof that you've been self employed for at least 2 years.  

Example:

You're a Realtor that has been licensed for 4 years and you only have one 1040 that you want to use.  This is acceptable under Freddie guidelines.  

From the information that you have presented it looks like you're not going to be eligible until after you do your taxes next year.  

A portfolio loan or Hard Money loan might be something that you can do.  

I hope that this helps and have a great day Sir. 

Bryce, hang in there!