I need a mortgage, how do they prefer taxes to be filed?

5 Replies

I am a small time real estate investor flipping vacant land. This is my full time "job," only income and I am looking to get a mortgage for a house soon, but first I must file two years taxes to qualify. How do you full time investors (without another job) file taxes in which would be acceptable to use as income for a mortgage? Is there a better way to file the profits than just as short term capital gains? Can you somehow claim it as "self employed" instead of just capital gains to make it more official on paper? Are there any computer programs you recommend, or what forms do you use? Thanks in advance and sorry for the questions (I'm new to the tax world.)

Hey James, 

Do you have a business entity? If so, what type? Do you keep the books using an accounting software? 

Lenders will want to see your current profit and loss statement and balance sheet. This is easy to procure if you use an accounting software. 

If you're full time job is flipping vacant land, then your income is probably considered to be ordinary income. Do you hold the land for more than 12 mos before you sell it? If that's the case, it would probably be capital gains. Either way, ordinary income or capital gains it shows as business income and the lender won't treat one different from the other- from my experience. 

I'm happy to continue the dialogue here

Jake 

@Jacob Blackett great post and chock full of good information. I want to clarify one portion of it though: holding for 12 months has little (if anything) to do with whether or not his properties will qualify for capital gain treatment.