David Rutledge
  • Irvine, CA
Votes |
Help with understanding lending process

David Rutledge
  • Irvine, CA
Posted Nov 7 2016, 11:54

Hi Everyone,

I am looking to get some more information about different financing options both conventional and non conventional.

I am just starting out in the RE investment world and I am looking only at long term buy and hold rental properties (both multi and SFR) I recently completed the purchase of my first few properties both with conventional financing with a 20% down payment.

Moving forward I am looking to add to my portfolio over the next 6 - 9 months. I am looking for some more information on financing options that may be available to me in order to maximize my saved capital and leverage position.

I am only looking at very modestly priced homes or units (between 100 - 150K) and I have about enough for a down payment for one other property in this range (around 20K) My plan right now is to wait a few months, get some experience under my belt as a landlord after getting my feet wet with these two properties and then pull the trigger on another property with similar characteristics as the ones I have recently purchased.

As I mentioned I have enough for a down payment for one more using the conventional financing method I have used with the first few but one more similar purchase will effectively drain the last of my capital. I am admittedly a complete novice in the investment business and I am on a huge learning curve with all the elements of RE investment that have come up. I am wondering if there may be other options available to me in the way of maximizing my capital to secure financing for more RE purchases.

Ideally I would like to build my portfolio as much as possible but I feel that my current capital can only stretch to one more conventional purchase and I will need to wait to save additional funds for the purchase of my next investments (hopefully coming from a mixture of my regular income and rental income).