Family wants in on investing

12 Replies

I am extremely new to investing. Currently have 1 rental that I purchased in May. I just found a duplex that I would like to place an offer on for a buy and hold. I currently have the funds to do this myself However a family member wants to get in on investing as well. I guess my question is, if they fund some of the deal what strategies would you use for them to profit from this deal. Such as a percentage of the monthly income or how else would they profit?? Sorry hopefully this question was not too confusing. Look forward to hearing hour suggestions

Have you had a conversation with your family member on their expectations of getting into the deal with you?  Or on your expectations?  

Just to keep things simple - I usually split the income after all expenses from the property based on the % that each person put into the deal.  If you are doing all the work on the deal you certainly could split the income more like 60% or 70% to you 40% or 30% to them or some other version of that.  Not to make it sound too simple but it just depends on what both of you want to do and get out of the deal.

Whatever you end up doing make sure you have a contract with them and that EVERYTHING is in writing and signed!

@Kyle Perry I am in the midst of setting up a very similar thing, both with family members and other 'silent investors'. 

My current partners and I have 25 doors and are out of cash so to speak for more. So how do we get more units? Private, Silent Partners! 

The basic structure is for the partner to bring the down payment of 20-25%, and we do ALL of the 'work', meaning finding properties, rehab management, finding and placing tenants, ongoing PM, and all financial planning too.