Should I Cash Out Refi to jump start some out of state investing?

6 Replies

Hi BP! I'm new to the real estate world and am thinking that in addition to some of my savings, I'd like to use some equity from my primary residence to purchase an investment property. I'm not a math whiz and it seems to make sense to me to do the below cash out refi but I know there are smarter people on here that can hopefully offer some input.

Current Loan: 

• 30 year fixed rate @ 4.25% (just closed a refinance in April) -Monthly Payment of $3325 + $900 taxes and insurance = $4225 monthly

Cash out Refi: 

• 30 year fixed rate @ 3.875% - Monthly Payment $3375 + $646 taxes and insurance (lower as I'm adding an Escrow account) = $4020 + $4773 in fees + $4715 total prepaids (taxes and insurance).  
  • Cash out = $41k

Well your payments are actually going up by $25/month, @Veronica Haniger . The real question is if you can take the $41k and put it into an asset that outperforms the market AND pays back the additional fees. That's certainly possible in RE, but you've got to find it.

I'm going to assume that your refi only brings you to 80% LTV. Why not take out a HELOC to tap into the $41k? The rate will be a little higher, but the closing costs are minimal and you don't pay any interest until you actually start using the money. No need to throw away that $4773 in closing costs.

Originally posted by @Veronica Haniger :

Hi BP! I'm new to the real estate world and am thinking that in addition to some of my savings, I'd like to use some equity from my primary residence to purchase an investment property.  I'm not a math whiz and it seems to make sense to me to do the below cash out refi but I know there are smarter people on here that can hopefully offer some input.  

Current Loan: 

• 30 year fixed rate @ 4.25% (just closed a refinance in April) -Monthly Payment of $3325 + $900 taxes and insurance = $4225 monthly

Cash out Refi: