Loan Officer Questions?

16 Replies

Hey guys! Newbie here so don't (or try not to) cringe at this question lol!

I'm getting started in investing and was planning on talking to all of the banks and credit unions in my area about financing deals (I'm looking to BRRRR btw).

I'm just wondering what questions I should be asking of them and if I need to prepare anything before going to interview them (credit report, income statements, etc)?   

Any tips or advice would be super helpful! Thanks in advance and happy investing! 

I would recommend sharing your plan with them (so that they can match you with the most relevant loan products), learning about their experience in investing, and asking them what they are fueled by the most in their work.

There are many technical questions you can ask, but I find that mortgage lenders are highly regulated in our new housing market (post 2008), so when I'm dealing with the reputable firms in my area I want to focus on getting to know the Loan Officer and understanding if they have the mental skills to help me accomplish my goals.  If so, I definitely want to work with them. 

Awesome info @Will Fraser , thank you so much for the response. 

I don't want to take up a lot of your time but if I can ask, in your opinion do you think it would be helpful to make an information packet about what I'm planning to do (what types of properties, price ranges, my farm areas, and my goals for the next 1, 3, 5, and 10 years)? Or do you think I should just get started interviewing them and see what loan options they offer first?

@Kyle Trotman never a problem, my man.  I love these conversations near and from afar.