• Real Estate Investor
  • Ohio
Votes |
Why is Hard Money so hard to find

Tom C
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Ohio
Posted Aug 3 2008, 10:56

I am new to this, but I have been studying and researching investment property for several months now. I am looking at buying one HUD somewhere between 15 and 30K, more around the lines of 25K. These are nice homes and in a 'not so bad' area, that will require very little rehab. I just can't seem to find anyone willing to loan me so little money. My credit score is around 620 and I do have more then 6 months of reserve cash handy.

Other then going to a family member or private investor, does anyone have any other idea's how to get started on my first house?

Thanks

User Stats

Votes
Frank Adams
  • Loveland, CO
Votes |
  • Loveland, CO
Replied Mar 29 2007, 01:57

The only thing that I can guess is that your deals are NOT as good as you think, and that you're looking for the HML to put up too high a %. In my experience most newbies fall into this mindset.

I get contacted several times a week to make HMLs to investors in the two pretty good size cities near me. I always tell them to email me the "pro forma" numbers; acquisition cost, rehab cost, ARV and expected hold time. Now that everyone has a digital camera (even ME!) I ask for some pictures too.

Invariably I can tell, just from the pictures, that they've probably underestimated the rehab costs (I've been rehabbing for 25+ years and I still underestimate too), and probably overestimated the ARV. In addition they are looking for too high an LTV from me! Most HMLs will only lend 65% so you need cash reserves and/or a NON LIENABLE source of other borrowed funds, ie; HD credit card.

When I see an ARV or $55K, an acquisition cost of $20K and a (newbie estimated) materials cost of $8K, I see a very marginal deal. Labor is always going to be 60% +/- of the total cost so the rehab cost is pushing $24K.