Skip to content
Private Lending & Conventional Mortgage Advice

User Stats

Votes
Blake Cormier
  • Corning, NY
Votes |
Self-Employed and Low Prices: Am I going to have to get creative?

Blake Cormier
  • Corning, NY
Posted Jan 8 2021, 05:23

Hi all! I'm just getting into REI and I'm looking to get my ducks in a row before just diving in. In doing my research, I've come across some potential snags that I wanted to get your advice on.

MY GOALS: Within the next 6-8 months, purchase a duplex or triplex to owner-occupy. Within the next 2-3 years, purchase 2 additional small multifamilies in the area possibly via BRRRR. Primary goal is cashflow

THE MARKET: Corning, NY, population 11,000. The rental market seems to be strong especially for well-equipped units. The city of Corning is definitely considered to be more upscale than Elmira (pop 30k) and the surrounding rural communities. Rents range from around $600 for a 1br in a C- complex to $1200 for a 2br in a nicely equipped townhouse community right downtown. I'd plan on targeting the $800-1000 market as far as finishes and amenities (off street parking, W/D in unit, etc.) not incl. utilities.

Home prices seem quite low especially in the areas zoned for small multifamily. Un-rehabbed duplexes are routinely seen on the MLS for sub-100k, and a move-in ready one can be had for $100-$150k. More on this later.

MY SITUATION: I am (mostly) self employed as a marketing consultant/copywriter. I say mostly because I have one client who pays me a monthly retainer on a W2 ($14k per year), while my largest client pays me the equivalent of $60k a year but not W2. I have another ~$10k a year coming in from other freelance gigs (also non-w2). I don't have many expenses so ~80% of this shows up as net income on my books.

Currently have $60k in savings and liquid investments (ETFs). We are very frugal and able to save more than 50% on average. FICO score is in the high 700s, though I've never had an installment loan, just CCs.