Am I qualified to become a Hard Money Lender?

8 Replies

I have about 2.5mm in liquid assets I can loan out, might be closer to 3.5 or 4 in the next couple years. I want to work alone (not run a consortium/partnership). My background is in banking, finance, analytics, and consulting. I know my way around an Excel spreadsheet. My wife is a lawyer, which is a plus.

Where do I get started? Obviously setting up an LLC and networking/putting my name out there in local real estate groups. But other than that, are there any resources for getting started? What are the biggest risks? It would appear to me that with a "free" lawyer by my side and first liens on the properties I finance, the only major risk is locked up capital during a foreclosure process. Am I thinking about this right?

First, be careful of all the solicitations you will receive now that you disclosed how much money you have to lend, @Vik C.   And, unless your wife is a lending lawyer, “free” could cost you a lot of money. This is a very specialized area of the law.

You’re looking to do what we’ve been doing for some time now in California. You might read my post in this thread: Becoming a Private Lender, where I detailed our process in a reasonably actionable form. It’s still quite accurate for us and we are still quite active mining our little niche out here

Having money tied up in a foreclosure is certainly a risk. Your first line of defense of course is avoiding foreclosure altogether. In our view, this is accomplished by loaning locally to experienced, full-time house flippers, with whom you’ve developed a relationship -- and we put the relationship far, far, far above everything else. If you don’t know, like, and trust your borrower (the ultimate real estate cliché), don’t make the loan. As you’ll read, this is the common thread in our process.