Votes
Jean-Francois T.
Pro Member
Votes |
Newbie - Seller Financing questions

Jean-Francois T.
Pro Member
Posted Mar 19 2023, 19:45

Hi, JF here.  I'm a newbie and need some advice re:seller financing. 

I have a former primary residence in a Top School District in NJ that I own free and clear (no mortgage). I've been renting out this property for several years and had various tenants. I am considering negotiating a seller financing agreement with the current tenants. The tenants (and potential buyers) are wealthy folks but get their income from abroad and wish to stay and raise their 3 children (7-10-15 year-old)  in the US in a top school district. So this is so far a good match for us, as landlords. 

Few questions in regards to seller financing: 

1- I have a Realtor with whom I have been working for years with this rental, and who would normally be involved with a traditional sale. With Seller financing (SF) however, what would be the role of the Realtor, and what would be a fair compensation for the Realtor in case I proceed with SF? 

2- There are a lot of resources on SF but it is a bit overwhelming, Can you recommend someone experienced in seller financing deals that I could consult with, to help me think about all the aspects? 

3- The fact that the buyer does not have their income in the US is a risk that I am fully aware of. However, the way I'm thinking about it is that if they fail to pay the mortgage, I'll get the house back so in my mind that mitigates the risk. Am I being too simplistic/naive here? 

Thanks for the advice. 

User Stats

Votes
Karl McGarvey
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Replied Mar 19 2023, 20:08

Hey JF!