Skip to content
Creative Real Estate Financing

User Stats

Votes
Bria Bacon
Pro Member
Votes |
Can I do an FHA 203K on a lot with two duplexes on it?

Bria Bacon
Pro Member
Posted Jan 31 2024, 10:24

Hello all. I'm a newbie investor based in Atlanta looking to invest in my 1st multi-family property using the FHA/FHA 203k loan. I found a fixer-upper property that has two duplexes on one lot. They were originally duplexes, but have both been converted to single-family homes. My idea is to do the FHA 203K and renovate them fully, converting them both back to duplexes. I found another lot that had a quadplex & a SFH on it. I like the idea of living in the SFH while renting out the quadplex. Will I be able to do the FHA loan with two properties on the same lot? Is this feasible when there are two homes on the same lot w/ two different addresses? Any insight/pieces of advice are helpful!!

User Stats

Votes
Michael Dumler
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Atlanta, GA
Replied Jan 31 2024, 12:07

@Bria Bacon, this is all nuanced. I could be mistaken, but this will likely not meet FHA underwriting if two separate addresses exist. Both properties would need to be on one parcel under one address. Moreover, I would assume there would be some underwriting interference if the properties are converted from SFHs back to duplexes. What does the tax ID indicate? What is the lot zoned as?

User Stats

Votes
Lateefah Mathews
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Atlanta, GA
Replied Jan 31 2024, 15:34
Quote from @Michael Dumler:

@Bria Bacon, this is all nuanced. I could be mistaken, but this will likely not meet FHA underwriting if two separate addresses exist. Both properties would need to be on one parcel under one address. Moreover, I would assume there would be some underwriting interference if the properties are converted from SFHs back to duplexes. What does the tax ID indicate? What is the lot zoned as?