Re-finance @ 80% of the appraisal value

9 Replies

Hello BBer's,

I have a house in Houston that is taking so long to sell and the best way to handle this now -as it appears to me- is to refinance it with a lender that can do 80% cash out based on appraisal value (not sales price).

the house was last appraised at 320K when i converted it to conventional loan (out of hard money), I know I should've done this search when I did the refinance but I'm still a newbie :o)

A question to the Houston REI community, do you know any lenders in the Houston market that can do that?

All the best,

Ayman 

@Ayman Elmasik  

How does the Houston/Texas market look to you? Does it seem to have slowed down a lot, or is this house you are having trouble with in a certain area that may have something within that market that causes it to be on the market for a lot longer?

@Peter Mckernan the market as a whole seems to be fine in the sector for houses that are around the median prices (up to 250K). this house is in an area which was flooded in 2015 so the whole are now have this stigma that makes the houses stay long in the market.

I think if I keep this house for another 2-3 years as a rental it will be still a winning deal as a whole but I want to free as much cash I can from it so I can use it in other deals.

Hello Ayman,

I'd love to help you out if you are okay with working with a lender who isn't directly in Houston.

A couple key points to consider:

1st - when did this switch over to conventional from hard money? Do you think the value has changed much since then?

2nd - since you did a cash-out refi from hard money to conventional there is a 12 month seasoning period before you can cash-out again.

3rd - since you property was recently listed for sale you are now capped at a 70% LTV if you do a cash-out refi, unless you wait 6 months from coming off market.