AwesomeProspective Flip...But I'm Broke

7 Replies

So I found a great FSBO property, SFH, 2/3 constructed. Asking price is under 600 and the comps are anywhere from 1.5 to 3+. This sounds almost too good to be true! My only problem now is...finding a way to fund this project then to sell it. I lack the funds and my credit isn't superb, but climbing back up. Any recommendations for a new REI?

@Lee Burns   Step back first and make sure it's really a deal.  Your comps range is way too large, a $1.5M spread!  What kind of repairs does it need?  And why has no one else purchased it already if it's such a great deal?

I'm not too experienced just yet, but I've reached out to some partners to also investigate.  It's been on the market 5 months, but it's still under construction so repairs wouldn't exactly be the word I'd use for it.  I can't speak as to why noone else has purchased it yet, except nobody might be desiring to undertake the project; ha.

@Lee Burns Once you fine tune the numbers and if you decide to proceed, back to your original question, how to fund it? HML would probably be a great fit. You would probably have to partner up as you'll still need funds to put into the deal. Or try local banks in your area to see if they'll do purchase + rehab funding (speak to the commercial lending department).

You didn't mention your exact credit score but they may have more flexibility.  Or have one of your partners co-sign on it.

Good luck!

Interested in helping you.  You could do a hard money loan with an angel for an equity portion.  or you could get a commercial loan with a bridge on top.  There are options.

You dont have enough info to know if it's a good deal. If it costs another $300k yo finish and is worth $3 million, great deal and I'll give you the money tomorrow! If it costs another $2 million to finish and is worth $1.5 million, you've just bankrupted yourself and any partner you've taken along with you.