Creative Real Estate Financing

User Stats

Votes
Nicholas Wallraff
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Cedar Rapids, IA
Votes |
Need help! The bank wants me to sell my property.

Nicholas Wallraff
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Cedar Rapids, IA
Posted Nov 17 2018, 09:42

First off, This is my first post outside the confines of the local forums, so hello to all you wonderful people!

A little background, I am a seasonal Wildland firefighter for the U.S. Forest Service, this means I'm gone a lot in the summers.  While I was home for a bit this summer my realtor showed me an off-market deal on a 3 plex and I was able to get an offer accepted.  The bank approved financing and we were a go!  Timing wasn't great but it was a good deal so who cares!  

Off to Oregon I went for 20 days with spotty cell service with much anticipation of closing on the new property when I returned.  I own another house, it was a live in flip, I bought it when I was 20 years old and my father co-signed because of my lack of credit.  The flip process was done but I was planning on keeping it and turning it into a rental.  That is when the bank contacted me and said that my debt to income ratios would not work if I wanted to keep both properties.  They said the house would have to be listed for sale before the closing date in order for them to lend on the 3 plex.  This was bad news however I wasn't too worried.  I had lived there for 2 years 6 months so the tax situation was covered and with the value add of the flip I could take the cash and reinvest it in new properties.  The numbers would still have been way better to hold it as a rental (nearly 2% rule with my before rehab purchase price), but I didn't have time or the ability to try to look into other financing while I was in Oregon.