I am very interested in the BRRRR strategy but have a question.

19 Replies

So I have listened to several podcasts and read about the BRRRR strategy and it is something I would like to pursue.

I am a traditional financing expert and have been originating mortgage loans for over 30 years and I understand how you can add the contractor to the closing statement and pay through escrow and then do a rate term refinance and get the funds back to pay off the existing loan and the construction costs. My question is, if you are a newer investor and your hard money lender wants you to put 10-20% down. How do you get that money back out on the refinance?

well when you rehab it, the ARV increases and the hope is that when you refi the appraisal is close to what the ARV that you projected comes out to so this way you can get your $ back or more.

@Rebecca Wisner I have typically bypassed traditional financing on these types of deals and used our commercial lender on the backend refi.  They don't have seasoning requirements and we've been able to refinance and pull out our money as soon and we finish the rehab and get a signed lease.

Jason, Unless you are doing a cash out refinance instead of a rate term refinance which isn't priced as well. 

Bob, Can you use a commercial lender on a single family residence or is it just 5 units+?

@Rebecca Wisner You can use commercial lending for any asset type or number of units. SFRs and 2-4s included. The advantage is that they're underwritten more like a multifamily loan in the sense that its primarily based on DSCR rather than the borrower's personal income. The other advantage is that you can use them for SFRs once you've surpassed your 10 conventional loan limit. Happy to chat about commercial lending anytime.

@Rebecca Wisner The other advantage is that many commercial lenders won't require 6 months seasoning to use new appraised value for cash out refinancing.  I'm going to help you save some of your conventional fall out!