I want to buy, but I don’t have a job yet?

8 Replies

Hello BP!

I am a big fan of the podcast, and now I have recently joined the app and forums! I am a 21 year old student in college who is about to get married in June. My future wife and I have only minimal jobs averaging about a combined $600 a month since we are in school, but we would really prefer to buy a house rather than rent. We don't expect anything nice. I would love to do the BRRRR method except that I would live in it for a year until we have enough to move out, rent it, and refinance it. I will be a teacher starting in January of 2021 while she will be a nurse starting in June of this year. The problem is that we both live on our college campus right now as we wait to graduate, so we would have to start renting come June unless we can find a way to qualify for a loan. Renting for a year is not what we would like to do since we almost see it as throwing away money rather than investing it. My dad is willing to co-sign the loan because of our lack of income and credit history, but it does not seem that we can find anyone that will give us a loan despite his great credit score and income.

We have 12k saved up, and my wife will have a high-paying job come June. Our predicament is that we can’t find a lender who will trust that our future incomes are worthy of the loan. Any advice for how we could possibly get a loan without a steady income yet?

It's possible to buy RE without a going to a bank. 

Learn creative financing strategies/techniques (esp. Seller Financing, Lease Options & Sub2) then focus on finding MOTIVATED sellers.

@Trevor Bragg when we are talking about buying a PRIMARY home then some very specific federal compliance laws come into place which limit what you can do comparatively to an investment property.  For example, a hard money loan can be used to buy an investment property....but not a primary home.