Skip to content
Tax, SDIRAs & Cost Segregation

User Stats

Votes
Jason Pham
Votes |
California residents investing out of state, LLC, DST, etc?

Jason Pham
Posted Feb 20 2022, 18:57

Hello fellow investors. I am a California resident investing in Charlotte NC. I have a several SFRs and in the early stages working with a GC to build some new homes in the near future.

I've been operating my business under my own name for the past several years and I believe I'm at a point where I should begin to look more seriously into asset protection.

I looked into setting up an LLC, but I feel special because I'm 'lucky' to be a California resident. I learned that there are additional obstacles and expenses required for California resident. As I looked more into LLCs I realize asset protection is extremely complex.

Under California Revenue and Taxation Code (Tax Code), I would be considered 'doing business in California if any of the criteria below is met and I would need to create an LLC in California:

• 1-If your gross sales for the company is 25% or more for the State of California, or the gross sales exceeds a threshold (just over $600k) IN the State of California, even if under 25% of your overall sales
  • 2-Or, the assets (real or personal property) owned by the company and located in the State of California is 25% or more of the total assets of the company, or the total assets exceeds a threshold (just over $60k) IN the State of California, even if under 25% of the assets owned by the company. 
  • Under this requirement, would one's personal California home be considered 'asset' under this definition???
  • 3-Or, the payroll compensation paid is 25% or more in the State of California, or the California payroll compensation exceeds a threshold (just over $60k), even if under 25% of the overall compensation paid to folks outside of CA.