Junior Lien Issue On My Foreclosure Purchase...

57 Replies

Hello - I'm hoping someone on BP can point me in the right direction.

I bought and rehabbed a home at a foreclosure auction. I now have the home under contract for sale, but it appears I overlooked an issue with a junior lien on the property. I'm looking for advice on how best to proceed! 

Here is the situation...

The home had two liens against it - the original mortgage, and a line of credit. Both liens were held by the same mortgagee.

Lis Pendens were filed on both liens within a couple of months of one another. The senior lien then reached judgment, and went to auction, where I bid on the home and won. I assumed (incorrectly, of course, I'm a foreclosure newbie), that since the bank on each lien was the same, and that I was bidding on the action on the senior lien, that the junior lien would be resolved automatically.

My title agent is stating that since the mortgage company did not name themselves as a defendant on the senior lien lawsuit, that their junior lien is still outstanding and must be resolved before we can sell the house. So that’s the question - how best to proceed???

I think I have two options - I can contact the lender and see if they are willing to give me a lien release. The other option would be to file a lawsuit, which would take time and money, obviously. If I do this, would it be considered a quiet title action, an additional foreclosure, or what? Also, does anyone have tips on reaching the right person / group at the bank to discuss this? It's a regional institution.

Thanks for your help!

Hi Justin,