SDIRA

40 Replies

I'm really interested in a Self Directed IRA. So far I'm just trying to understand it all being I'm new to real estate investing.

My question is, can I convert my 401A, 403B from my current employer that I'm fully vested in to a SDIRA?

Anybody in Southeast Michigan or surrounding area using an SDIRA that wouldn't mind talking with me about this?
Every plan is different. You need to contact the sponsor of the plan to see if you can move the money out of the account to a sdira

@Robert Farris

Most employer plans (401k etc) do not allow you to rollover funds to another IRA while you are still employed with the company sponsoring the plan - unless you are over age 59 1/2. There are some exceptions, so check with your plan administrator to see if the plan offers an "in-service distribution" option and if you are eligible.

Medium safeguard rgb stackedBrian Eastman, Safeguard Advisors | [email protected] | 855‑997‑2298 | http://www.ira123.com

@Robert F.

If you transferred any previous retirement plan funds or IRAs to your current employer plan, you should be able to transfer those amounts to an IRA. However, like others have said already, you will have to check with your current employer regarding transferring any funds that you or the employer has contributed to the current plan. For example, some will let you transfer the profit sharing contributions after 2 years of participation in the plan.

Medium mysolo 401k logoMark Nolan, My Solo 401k Financial | [email protected] | 800‑489‑7571 | https://www.mysolo401k.net/

Thanks for all the great advice. I'll be calling first thing this morning to check and see if I can move it. 

I never rolled over anything from a prior company so I'm hoping they'll just allow me to use my current account.

I'll post after I find out.

Thanks again everyone!