Asset Protection Plan

11 Replies

Hi, I am fairly new to the investor world and I am concerned about asset protection. I use most of my cash flow to pay down the mortgages on the properties but the more equity I have in the house the more I am concerned about protecting that asset.  What is the best way to do this?

There is no one-size-fits-all answer to your question.  Whatever asset protection plan you implement needs to be tailored to fit your specific needs and circumstances.  You need to have this conversation with your accountant, your attorney, your estate planner, and your tax adviser -- preferably with all in the same room at the same time.

Originally posted by @Ben Bourgeault :

Hi, I am fairly new to the investor world and I am concerned about asset protection. I use most of my cash flow to pay down the mortgages on the properties but the more equity I have in the house the more I am concerned about protecting that asset.  What is the best way to do this?

I personally have each of my properties in a separate LLC, they all have individual insurance policies, and then I have an umbrella insurance policy to cover anything else.

-Christopher

Thank You, I do have the separate insurance policies and the umbrella as well and I am in the process of putting them in individual LLCs.  Have you run into any trouble with the bank for changing the name from yours to the LLCs?  Could someone still come after the equity in the house? 

@Ben Bourgeault

You have some good questions and concerns. I recommend you listen to the below podcast 109 to help put you mind at ease.

This podcast cleared up a lot for me and I am sure it will do likewise for you.

BP Podcast 109: You Will Get Sued. Here's How To Survive With Attorney Scott Smith

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2015/02/12/bp-podcast-109/ In This Episode We Cover:
  • Forming an LLC right off the bat
  • The ins and outs of Insurance vs. Assets
  • Ten things you need to know to protect your assets