Tax Implications for BRRRR?

23 Replies

I'm curious what the differences are for tax implications for a straight flip vs. a BRRRR? My understanding is that any profits from a flip will be taxed at my personal current tax rate as income. However, if I'm refinancing and getting an 80% LTV loan, any "profits" after the cash out on the refi would be debt on the 80% LTV loan. Would there be any self income that I need to report to the IRS if the extra money is debt?

For example on a flip: $60k all-in on purchase, rehab, and financing w/ ARV of $140k, the profits would be $80k but would be taxed at my personal income level

On a BRRRR: $60k all in w/ ARV of $140k and 80% LTV loan on the refi, the cash out would be $112k and profits would be $52k. Would this $52k be tax free since it is part of the refi debt?

Thanks!

@Hunter Preston ,

I'm not a tax professional, but in my experience you only pay capital gains when you SELL the property. You will claim that income in the future when you sell the building, because you bought the building for <$60k.

When you flip real estate you realize income on the sale of the property, and that gets taxed at ordinary income tax rates. Income from flipping is also subject to self-employment taxes.

When you BRRRR you do not sell the property, you rent it. If you have rental income (after expenses) your rental income is also taxed at ordinary income tax rates, but it is not subject to self-employment taxes.

Money the bank loans you on a refi is borrowed money. Borrowed money is not taxable as income. 

Best of Luck on your Real Estate Investing!

@Paul Allen  

Do you need to own the rental home for a certain period of time before you sell it in order to not pay self-employment tax?