S Corp as a Real Estate Agent

5 Replies

Hi All,

I have a question about LLC's, S Corps, and C Corps.

I work as a real estate agent in Washington DC and want to corporate myself for tax reasons.  What are the guidelines for where I am allowed to start my S Corporation.  Do I have to start it in Washington DC?  Also, what benefits does it have in terms of tax write offs, tax savings, etc.?  

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

@Pat Hiban had a CPA on an episode of his podcast in the last few months. I remember in the show they mentioned that the tax court had recently rules that real estate agents could not be an S-corp.  Im not positive that it is the episode below, but Id check it out.  Also @Brandon Hall is a CPA who specializes in all things real estate, so he is likely a good resource.

https://hibandigital.com/costly-tax-mistakes/

https://hibandigital.com/craigcody/

@Cassidy Burns

The state of formation is a question for an attorney, and I'm not one. Typically you form an LLC in the state where you operate (DC) and request that the LLC is treated as an S-corp for tax purposes. If you form it elsewhere for asset protection reasons, then you probably have to register it as a "foreign LLC" in DC. Look at this article and then consult an attorney.

As far as tax benefits of S-corporation - you do not get any additional deductions. In fact, it can complicate things and even hurt you if you are not careful with how you operate it - specifically in separating corporate and personal money.

Where it can possibly help you is in reducing self-employment tax, however it's a sticky and controversial issue. Check out this old discussion here on BP.